About Us

The Celtic Congress was founded in 1917, though its antecedents go back some years before that, in order to promote the knowledge, use, and appreciation of the languages and cultures of the six Celtic countries (Alba/Scotland, Breizh/Brittany,   Cymru/ Wales, Eire/Ireland, Kernow/Cornwall, Mannin/Isle of Mann . National Branches of the Congress meet in an International Congress each year in order to help further these aims.

Mannin Branch

A representative of Mannin attended the first International Celtic Congress in its present form, convened at Birkenhead in 1917 as part of the National Eisteddfod.

Mannin hosted the International Congress for the first time in 1921, during which the six permanent branches were confirmed.

Mannin branch has about 30 members and meets in Peel, on a regular basis throughout the winter and spring months, to enjoy talks and presentations.


Brian KerwinEaghtyrane – President : 32 York Road, Doolish - Douglas MANNIN, IM2 3BL
Noel Cringle OBEPatroon - Patron
Clare Christian OBEPatroon-Patron
Hazel HannanPatroon-Patron

Tashteyder-Onn – Hon Treasurer
Robin Callister
61 Cooil Drive
Doolish – Douglas
Mannin, IM2 2HF

Lhiass-Eaghtyrane – Vice President
Stewart Bennett
16, Glenfaba Road
Purt ny Hinshey – Peel
Mannin, IM5 1BU

Screeudeyr Onn – Hon Secretary
Bob Carswell
Maynrys, 3 Lyndale Avenue
Purt ny Hinshey – Peel
Mannin, IM5 1JY

post-l / email (with appropriate symbol) : bobbybobjb (at) gmail.com